top of page

An Ember In The Ashes


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Five Star

Story:

This book was written in a dual POV, Elias and Laia.


Laia's family gets killed, and her brother Darin is taken by a mask. After finding the Resistance, she is given a mission to sneak into Blackliff as a slave.


Elias is a mask who wants to be different. He hates killing, and wants freedom.


Laia and Elias live in different world, but they both want freedom.


I had very high expectations of this book, and I'm glad Sabaa Tahir didn't disappoint me. I love every scene and although the book isn't short, I read it really quickly. I love the fact that this book has so many unique fantasy elements that I've never seen in other books.


This book is a crazy version of the Hunger Games, it has trials, and killing, and there are so many scenes that surprised me because it's cruel.


◆ ◇ ◆ ◇ ◆ ◇

Likes:

1) Characters. Laia and Elias are very likable. It took me a moment to like Laia especially since <spoiler> she was obviously being fooled by the resistance, and I felt like she's too weak</spoiler> but by the end, I really liked her. Elias on the other hand is awesome, and I love him because he was trying so hard to be different than other masks. Although Helene is kind of sucky because she followed the rules like an idiot, but for some reason, I like her too. I'm not sure about Keenan because I feel like he's too controlling, and selfish.


2) The characters development. So what I really love to see in a book is characters developing, and this book did it for me. At the start, Laia was stupid, and trusting. She believed everyone ,and anyone, and was very weak. By the end of the book, we see how she changed, how she became strong and fearless. She didn't choose the easy way for herself, but chose to fight. I really like what she became.


On the other hand, Elias is very strong. He's a mask, and he's finally going to graduate. However, he's not happy. So by the end of the book, he become what he wants to be.


Izzi and Cook are also likable. There are still so many mysteries around Cook, and I think she's hiding something big. I also love the fact that although Izzi is a slave, she's really strong and fearless. She likes adventure, and isn't what we thought she would be at first.


3) The fantasy elements in this book were very unique, and awesome. The Augurs, Efrits, Jinn, and so many other characters that are still a mystery even after reading this first book. Cain is also one of my favorite characters because although he is confusing, I think there's a reason for everything.


The Augurs are creepy, and I feel like there are so many mysteries that needs to be solved. I'm very happy that there's going to be a next book. The mystery and the suspense is very amazing, and it kept me reading this book until I wanted to be done with it. Then, when I was done with it (Finished it), I wanted the second book to be in my hands. I need to wait until 2016 though. <i>Sigh</i>


4) The dark themes. This book deals with so many dark themes such as rape, death, and violence. I was very mad at time, but this added more to the book, and made it more enjoyable. I like the fact that it didn't only deal with fantasy, and action but with other stuff. The trials were crazy, and I was wondering what's the point of doing this?


5) The twists. While reading this, I was very shocked so many times. I like the fact that I couldn't predict so many things. I also like how there are so many mysteries we still don't know about.

◆ ◇ ◆ ◇ ◆ ◇

Dislikes:

Although I do dislike some parts of this book, it's still one of my top favorite books ever. It kept me guessing until the last page.


1) I hate commandant, Elias's mom so much. What is wrong with her? I really want to know what happened to her in the past because being that crazy and heartless isn't normal. I was very surprised when <spoiler> she went to Elias in jail, and had a heart to heart moment with him, but then we see how crazy she is, and how she didn't even give a shit about her own son.</spoiler> She's crazy, and I hate her guts. I also hate Marcus, and I don't get why the hell is he so stupid. <spoiler> At least we know he has a heart though because when Zak died, he broke. The crazy thing is that he became crazier afterwards.</SPOILER>


2) I really like the ending, but at the same time, I don't. I wanted more, and at least some of the mysteries to be solved.


◆ ◇ ◆ ◇ ◆ ◇

Favorite part: The moonlight festival when Elias, and Laia danced together. God, it was super cute, and I just loved every part of it, how Elias is less sad and mad. How Laia is laughing carelessly. It was so cute. The book didn't have too much romance, but when it did, it was very cute. I hope Elias and Laia end up together!! ♥


◆ ◇ ◆ ◇ ◆ ◇

I'm really looking forward to read the second book, and I hope that there will be more romance between Laia and Elias. So many things happend in this book, and I really like it. The plot is very satisfying, and isn't fast pace, or slow pace. It's just natural pace.


Recommendation: I recommend this book ti Fantasy readers. It is action packed, and very unique. It's also cute at time, and made me cry at other times.


Heroine: 4.5 stars.

Hero: 5 stars.

Plot: 5 stars.

Writing: 5 stars.

Romance: Very light romance but I love it 5 stars.



Leave a comment

Weekly Feature Post
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • goodreads-128.png
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Instagram Black Round
  • Google+ Black Round
  • goodreads-128.png

Our Song of the Week

Recent Reviews

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page