top of page

White Hot Kiss


This is book one of the The Dark Elements trilogy by Jennifer Armentrout, and oh my God! Jen never failed me, or dissappointed me. I love this book, and every charater, and just EVERYTHING!!


▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

The story: In this book, we follow a girl called Layla. She's half Warren, and half demon which he hates so much. She lives with her fellow Warrens, and her life is fine until she meets Roth.


Roth is a badass, hottie, and a demon! Layla hates his guts, but she can't handle him, and her mixed feelings toward him. (I don't blame her since he's HOT!) That's not the only problem for Layla since being with Roth is like stabbing her family and Zayne in the back.

“You need something," he said, and when I stared at him, he added, "Your face." "My face?" "It's in need of my kisses.”

▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

Characters:

Layla:

Layla is a half demon, half Warren. She has no idea who are her parents, and so she lives with the Warrens. Layla's life is 'perfect' because she goes to school, and lives her life almost regularly. However, when she meets Roth, he make her realize that she was fooled all along. The love she had for Zayne decreases as Roth make her experience so many new things she could have never done before.


What made me like Layla is the fact that she didn't histate to hide some secrets from her family. Even though she knew they were hiding so many things from her, she just never felt sorry. She grows stronger throughout the book which is also great.


Roth:


Roth is just amazing. I like his personality. His comebacks. I like how he treats Layla, and how sweet he is. I also like Bambi, and the fact that it always help Layla. Roth is perfect in every way, and I have to admit I'm so team Roth!




▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

Positives:

1) Roth! This comes as no surprise since Roth became one of my book boyfriends from the start of the book. He's just great with amazing comebacks. I love the way he teases Layla, and I honestly feel like layla doesn't deserve him. I love how he's a demon and still kind and caring.


2) Layla: Okay, so I don't like many heroines, but Layla is kinda awesome. She's not weak, and has her own thinking. Although she made me pissed at some parts *cough* *cough* (Roth is wrapped around her finger!) *cough*


3) Plot: I really like the plot because so many plot twists happened. I love the fact that Roth and Layla started off as enemies, and ended up pretty close (Pretty cliche but who cares?)


4) The character development. When I started reading this book, Layla was protected by everyone around her. She wasn't cared much for, and is always on the side. By the end of the book, she's a strong character who knows how to protect herslef. She can see whose on her side, and whose not.

▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

“At some point, Roth had gotten hold of my cell and replaced Zayne's name with Stony and listed his own number under Sexy Beast. What a tool”

-

“Then I guess I'll just have to try biting again" "You wanna try?" He leaned the curve of my cheek. "Let me suggest more appropriate places. I have this piercing.”

▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

Negative:

1) Zayne: In this book, I don't think there are two teams. There is only TeamRoth because Zayne doesn't even have a chance! He was completely engrossed with his own stupid ideas when so many things were happening around him. He is so ignorant, and always pity himself, and I just Dislike him!!!


2) All the Warren community! Ugh!! I mean they act like they're perfect, and pure, while they suck, and needs to learn respect. I just think that Layla is a bit stupid because she stick with them. SMH!!

▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

Favorite part: when Roth saves Layla for the hundredth time, and take her to his apartment!! God!! That was the best sleepover I read in a book.


Ending: The ending was OMG!!! I wanted more from Roth, but it's fine. There are two more books in the series so I will forgive Jennifer for the ending this time.


▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

“If i say thank you, will you go away?" "Yes" "Thank you" I said eagerly. "I lied" "What?" I looked up at him, frowning. "That's messed up”

▨▨▨▨▨▨▨▨

I rated this five stars because it was a very good book. I would defintely complete reading the series, but I'm still waiting for the third book to come out. I seriously can't wait. So, this book is also added to many favroite books list. It was an entertaining, action packed book.


Heroine: 4 stars.

Hero: 5 stars (DUHHHH!!)

Romance level: 5 stars.

Ending: 4 stars.

Plot: 5 stars.

Writing style: 5 stars (I love Jennifer Almentrout's writing.)



Recommendation: I recommend this to every Fantasy/Romance readers out there. This has a very unique storyline, and will definitely an interesting read.


Leave a comment

Weekly Feature Post
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • goodreads-128.png
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Instagram Black Round
  • Google+ Black Round
  • goodreads-128.png

Our Song of the Week

Recent Reviews

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page